Author in the Spotlight: A. Maslo!

Hey Book Dragons, I’m back! It’s week 2 of my new series called Author in the Spotlight! For those of you who don’t know, Author in the Spotlight is a series of interviews focusing on indie/non-traditionally published authors. The purpose of this series is to try and expose you to some new authors that aren’t from the Big 5 publishing companies, and to bridge the gap between indie/self-publishing and traditional publishing, by giving these authors the same opportunities that traditionally published authors would have!

So this week I’m here with Alicia Maslo, author of the Anarri Fae series! She writes her books under the pen name A. Maslo, and you can totally stalk her on these various social media websites.

Author Pic

Facebook or Instagram

You can buy her book by clicking here!

Alright, lets get started!

 

Welcome to my blog Alicia! Thank you so much for letting me interview you! So, lets start with something easy. Where are you from, and what’s your hometown like?

I am from all over the US- I was born in Hawaii though. I don’t consider myself to have a hometown since I’ve been in the military system my whole life. We move every three to four years. I’ve been to forty-three of the country’s states but have to say that my two favorite are Tennessee and Wisconsin.

 

 

Try and think back to the very first story you ever wrote. Who, or what, inspired you to become an author?

I honestly just had needed an outlet for my creativity. I was painting landscapes before that, (I still do.) and when my studio was under renovation, I wasn’t able to paint. So, I opened my laptop after an idea popped into my head and I ran with it. Turns out, I enjoy writing way more than I expected and I’m not too bad at it. Lol.

 

Boredom can definitely breed creativity, if you’re open to it! So what are your hobbies? Do you have a day job?

I still paint landscapes, but I also love reading. If someone’s says I read too much, then I say “It’s research.” My day job is being a military spouse and mother of two boys and two Rottweiler’s. It’s all a handful. I am working to make being an author, my official daily title.

 

What’s your family like? And what does a typical day with your family look like?

Oh boy, get up at 5am- make the hubby his breakfast and dinner and see him off to work. Boys get up at 6am- get them fed and ready and off to school (Except my oldest, who I home-schooled for two years, thankfully that’s over with.). It’s 8am now, clean the house up. 10am, business calls mixed with writing my next books. At 3pm the kids get home and I wrangle them until dinner at 5pm. After that, another attempt to write, or make calls if needed. If I’m lucky, try to catch up on my DVR list. It’s 8pm now, time for the kids to go to bed, and oh look, dad is home. Then it’s an hour of time quality time with my husband before we go to bed to start all over. This is my weekday schedule typically. The weekends, I very much look forward to.

 

Wow, you’ve got one heck of a schedule! You sound like Supermom! So let’s move on and get talking about life as an author. As a writer, what struggles do you face? What about as an indie published author?

As a writer, it would be people taking me seriously. Apparently, to many people, I just sit and mess around on my laptop all day. As an Indie author, the marketing was the toughest and took more of my time than the actual writing. I’m glad I signed with a small publishing house that takes care of so much.

 

I get the same response sometimes, when I tell someone I’m a blogger. I guess we just have to ignore those people. So do you have any writing influences?

I’m not sure if I have writing influences. I do know that I have several authors I enjoy reading, but I like to think my writing style is my own.

 

Do you listen to music while you write? Are there any specific artists or playlists you prefer?

Yes. I listen to Pandora, I have several stations on there I enjoy but I mainly listen to Claude Debussy radio (Classical) or Enya radio on there while I’m writing. Every now and then when I need to get pumped up I’ll turn on Flogging Molly radio (Irish Punk).

 

We have similar music tastes for writing! I like to listen to Enya or Celtic Woman radio while I work on my book. Alright, speaking of book, let’s move on and talk about your book! Whats it about?

Rite of Annarii is book 1 in the Annarii Fae series and is centered around a human girl named Fellwynne. She is raised in the fae village Annarii, and is chosen by the Stones to be the next ruler of all magick. She then has to activate all the Stones while finding out that she wasn’t just a foundling as she was meant to believe.

RoA rerelease cover

 

That sounds AMAZING! My weakness is paranormal books, and my favorite paranormals are the Fae. I find them so interesting and each author spins them in a different light. Alright, what are your main characters like?

Fellwynne is spunky and sarcastic. She’s fiercely loyal to those she loves and she has a magnetic personality. She tends to try to take care of everyone. Willow is Fellwynne’s best friend and is fun-loving and lovable. Also fiercely loyal, she will do anything to help her best friend succeed.

 

Can you provide a blurb or quote from your book?

“…Thank you, so much. I don’t know how I’ll ever repay you.”

“Hey, what’s a resurrection between friends,” I say trying to lighten the mood. “Hopefully though, I never have to do it again.”

“Agreed,” Drake and Willow said in unison.

 

I don’t know what intrigues me more. The fae, or the casual resurrection you just provided us with. So if your book was being turned into a tv show/movie/broadway musical, who would you cast for your characters?

Hmm, that’s a good one. I’d say Ashley Greene as Fellwynne, she’s got the spunk and wit for it. Emma Stone or Amanda Seyfried as Willow, they are so talented at portraying loyal counterparts but are strong enough to stand on their own as well. Gerard Butler as Aleck- he completely fits the tall, dark and brooding character. Finally, I would pick Colin O’Donoghue for Drake. He could nail the strong yet carefree funny guy easily.

 

I LOVE all of those! I actually used to get my hair done like Ashley Greene’s was in Twilight. Well thank you so much Alicia for joining me today!

 

That’s all for today guys. I hope you enjoyed this interview with Alicia Maslo! If you have any questions for her, you can leave them in the comments. Next week, I’m talking to Erin Lee, the author of The Diary of a Serial Killer series!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

