Spoiler Free Review: House of Night: Burned

I’ve finished Book 7 in the House of Night series! This is crazy. We’re almost done with the series. Just 5 more books to go. If you’re looking for my review on any of the previous books in this series, check out my review index under C for Cast, or any of my recent posts.

I’m just going to jump right into it, because by now you know the drill.


 

51fG29hpg7L

Book: Burned

Series: House of Night

Book Number: 7

Authors: PC and Kristin Cast

Published: April, 2010 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Where to Buy: Amazon

 


 

Burned is book 7 in the House of Night series, and is my favorite book of all of the books. We know the world, we know the characters, and we know what we’re facing.  Having this knowledge and relationship with the series, if you’re as invested as I am, you’ll have lots of feels in this book. I cried a few times.

There is so much character development for so many of the characters, but specifically we focus on Stark, Stevie Rae, and Rephaim.

At the end of book 6 (this is not a spoiler if you’ve finished book 6, and honestly what are you doing here if you haven’t?) Kalona kills Heath, Zoey sees it happen, and Zoey’s soul shatters into pieces and she’s stuck in the Otherworld. So this book focuses on everyone coping with that, and trying to figure out how to bring Zoey back. You’ll have to read book 7 to find out if they were successful.

Stark gets a huge role in this book, and it’s about damn time too. James Stark is Zoey’s warrior, and he is tasked with protecting her until she dies. We learn a lot about Stark, and just how far he will go to protect his High Priestess, and his love.

Stevie Rae and Rephaim are the other main focus here. I can’t talk too much about that, but let me just say that it’s really interesting, kinda entertaining (I love Stevie Rae’s inner dialogue), and definitely holds promise.

As with book 6, as we expand on the different characters, get different points of view, and learn more from each of them, the writing style becomes more mature and complex than each book previous. The characters are slowly but surely growing up, and we see less of the crappy “teen” dialogue and more adult conversations.

 


 

Overall I give this book 5/5. It is my favorite book in the series, and I literally have no issues with it.

If you liked this Spoiler Free Review and want to read more about the House of Night, stay tuned because next week I cover Awakened, book 8 in the series.

Leave a Reply

