Author in the Spotlight: Mandy Kim!

Welcome to my blog! You picked a great day to visit me, because I have just started an awesome new series where each week, I interview a different Indie author! The purpose of this series is to expose you all to new authors that aren’t traditionally published, and to try and bridge the gap between traditional and indie publishing.

So this week, I’ve got Mandy Kim joining me! Mandy is the author of some really cool books that have to do with spies/undercover agents! She is originally from Kansas, in a quiet yet busy town called Dodge, and now resides in Greeley, Colorado! You’ll get to learn more about her in a few minutes, so, lets get started shall we?

 

First off, thank you Mandy for letting me interview you, and welcome to my Blog! Lets start at the very beginning. Try and think back to the very first story you ever wrote. Who, or what, inspired you to become an author?

The first story I wrote was a fan-fiction for Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight Saga. I have always loved reading, and I had a knack for writing, so I combined the two of them.

 

That’s so cool! I’ve heard about a lot of authors who got their start with fan-fic! So tell me about your home life. Do you have any hobbies? Do you have a “day job”?

No day job. I have a two year old daughter that I stay at home with. I like writing fanfictions for my favorite shows or movies.

 

What is your family like? What does a typical day in your family look like?

Hectic. It’s up and go from seven am. There is no stopping from then to bedtime. I live with my parents, so I have 2 brothers and a sister that I help look after.

 

That sounds crazy. I’m a part time nanny, so I get the up and go part. With 4 boys to take care of from 6am til whenever I leave, it can be exhausting. So tell me about being an author. Do you face any struggles as a writer? What about as a self published author?

As a writer I don’t really face any struggles. Now as a self-published author, just starting out was hard. I wasn’t getting enough sales and I was doing takeovers* all over. I would have 2 or 3 a day.

*A takeover is generally when an author promotes their book at a virtual release party, on a facebook or twitter page, or even a blog, by hosting the page for a set amount of time.

 

 

That sounds tough! Self publishing is difficult, for sure. So who are your major writing influences?

I have several authors that I could thank for me being here today. Kyle Perkins, Virginia Johnson, and Jackson Kane, are the three I have to give my shout out to. Virginia helped me out with anything I needed and Kyle was himself.

 

It’s so great that you have those people to look up to, and to thank! Friends are definitely important in the writing world. Moving on, do you listen to any music while you write?

I listen to country music because that is what inspires me. It also helps me focus.

 

That’s great! I’m a big country music fan myself. So now lets talk a little about your books. You currently have 1 book published, and are working on a sequel. Can you tell me a little bit about them?

My first book Undercover Love is about an undercover agent, who falls in love with the targets son [Jace] who has nothing to do with the case. They end up having a daughter, and right before she turns 2, Jace, tells her that they need to be out of his house. She and her partner get a job as security detail for a businessman [Dean] Dean and Savanna have met before. They fall in love and have twins.

I’m currently working on book 2, Undercover Life, and it continues with following Savanna and Dean throughout their daily life.

 

That sounds super cool, and super confusing. Which, in my personal experience, most books having to do with spies or undercover agents, are confusing. Tell me a little bit more about your main characters.

Savanna who goes by Elena [undercover name] for most of the series, is an undercover agent for the FBI. Dean Stephens is a successful businessman, who is a bachelor. Jace Lewis is the targets’ son [with whom] Elena falls in love with and has a daughter. Faith is the daughter, [and] she is two when Jace and Elena split.

 

Now it makes a little bit more sense! I guess I’ll have to read it to understand everything. Can you provide a quote or blurb from your book?

Faith what do you say? Would you like to become Faith Stephens? – Dean Stephens

 

Aww! I love that. Now I have to read it and find out what happens! Alright, last question. If you could cast any actors/actresses to play in the tv/movie/broadway production of your book, who would you choose?

Well for Dean, I would say Jesen Ackles. For Elena [Savanna] I would say Nina Dobrev. Kyle Taylor, I’d say Zach Efron. For Jace Lewis, I’d say Ian Somerhalder. For Faith I would say the little girl who plays Charlie in Good Luck Charlie.

 

That cast would have me swooning for days! And the little girl from Good Luck Charlie was so cute!

Well thank you so much Mandy for joining me today! If you guys liked this interview, let me know in the comments, and if you have any additional questions for Mandy, you can ask them below! Next week, I’ll be interviewing A. Maslo, author of the Annarii Fae series!

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

