Spoiler Free Review: House of Night: Tempted

We did it! We’re 6 books through with the series! Holy crap. Let’s just take a moment to let that sink in. We’re halfway done!
For those of you who are reading this and have been reading my reviews since week one, I want to say thanks. You guys are amazing.
For those of you who have no idea what’s going on, let me explain. For the past 6 weeks, I’ve been re-reading and re-reviewing the House of Night series by PC Cast. The reason this is a big deal is this: there are 12 books in the series, plus several novellas. Each book is roughly 300 pages. And, I’m reading them all within a 3 week timeline. Yep. The truth is out. My reviews are scheduled.
Now, here’s the second reason why this is such a big deal: PC Cast is releasing a NEW House of Night book, called HoN Otherworld: Loved, and it’s the first book in a brand new series! Ahh! So to celebrate the fact that I get an early copy to review, and to make sure that I’m 100% up to date on the happenings in the series, I’m re-reading every book.
Now that explanations are out of the way, let’s get into the review. Like I said last week, because there is SO much happening in each book, from book 5 and forward, these reviews are as spoiler free as possible. At the very end of the entire series, I’ll be doing a super long, super spoilery overview of all of the books.





Title: Tempted

Series: House of Night

Book Number: 6

Authors: PC & Kristin Cast


So Tempted is book 6 in the series, and is the perfect middle book. There are several changes to talk about, but we’ll talk about them quickly and without spoilers.
The first thing you’ll notice is that the book is now told in multiple points of view. We have Zoey, in 1st person, and then we have several other characters throughout the book in 3rd person perspective. It’s hard to get used to at first, and when I read the series the very first time, I hated it. But now, from an older standpoint, I see that it really adds to the story a lot. We get to see inside the minds of characters that are normally just full of commentary. I love it.
We are also introduced to a new character, who is actually really interesting, and this character is surprisingly one of my favorites down the road.
Another thing you’ll notice is that as the book goes forward, the writing style matures. Our characters are growing up right before our eyes, and PC and Kristen’s writing reflects that. It’s something that I really appreciate, because the younger style of writing is hard to handle sometimes, as I get older and revisit the series.
There are several moments in the book where I ugly cry, and you’ll probably ugly cry too.
One more thing to mention. We see a lot more of my book boyfriend, James Stark. I love it. Some of my favorite Stark moments are in this book.
So overall, I’d say book 6 gets a 4.75/5. There’s a lot of maturation in the book through the characters, the writing style, and the plot. Some things are finally making sense, some storylines are being tied up, and we’re finally getting to the good stuff. Or should I say, the good vs evil stuff.
If you’ve stuck around this long, you know that you’re in it for the long haul. Or at least, I hope you are.
Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you next week to discuss book 7, Burned.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s