Books I’m Taking With Me To Camp! 

Today is the day. Today I leave my home for 10 weeks and trek into the wilderness. Just kidding! I’ll be at camp, not camping! But it will be different, it will be VERY rural, even compared to where I live.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, here’s the short version. I took a job at the summer camp I attended as a young teen, and I’ll be living away from home for 10 weeks!

So, I’m going to have some reading time when I’m not working, and I wanted to share with you which books I’m taking with me this summer!

Small Disclaimer: I have a couple of ARCs going, and 9 of the 11 books are contemporaries. 



img_9239
Okay! So I’ll start with my most anticipated summer release, which I have an ARC of. It’s the only non-contemporary. Yes, I’m talking about House of Night Otherworld: Loved.

This is the revival of the House of Night series, which I am total trash for. If you frequent my blog, you’ve probably seen me gush about it lately. A lot.


1494977201646
Photo from my Instagram!


Next I’ve got The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord. I actually don’t know much about this book except that when I found out it takes place at a Christian summer camp, and the main character is a camp counselor, I jumped on the preorder (and later found some preorder swag!)


The Color Project by Sierra Abrams! While this isn’t actually going with me, I do have the preorder set to come to my camp address, so I think this counts! Sierra is a really good friend of mine, and I’m so excited for this book to arrive!


Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin! This book is supposed to be really light and funny, and summer camp has it’s stressful moments when you’re sleep deprived and on the go! This is the perfect pick-me-up for those down days!


I’m taking all 4 of Morgan Maton’s amazing contemporary novels. I love every single one of these, and will probably read Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour in the car today.


sasquatch-love-and-other-imaginary-things-9781507202807_hr

I’ve got an arc of Sasquach, Love, and Other Imaginary Things by Betsy Aldrege and Carrie DuBois-Shaw! This is a loose retelling of Pride and Prejudice, and it takes place in a reality-tv style setting, with a show much like Finding Bigfoot!


15841864

I’m taking The Year of Luminous Love by Lurlene McDaniel. Lurlene McDaniel writes about a lot of tough health based subjects such as cancer, diabetes, and blindness. All of her books make me cry. A lot of her older books are hard to get into just because of the dialogue (they were written in the 80s and 90s so the slang is kinda funny). This one is from 2013 though, so I’m hoping its a bit easier to read.


71F85SANnqL

Lastly, I have Caleb + Kate by Cindy Martinusen-Coloma. This is essentially a very loose retelling of Romeo & Juliet with a christian focus. Cindy is a christian author, and I have her other books as well. I have yet to read any of them, but my friends at church said they’re really good, so I thought I’d give this a try!


That’s it for books I’m taking with me to camp! As you’re reading this, I’ll be in the car, on my way to camp! I’ll be back to check in with you guys when I get settled and have wifi. Also, stay tuned for a special vlog-style video with footage from my first week at camp!

~Lizzi

9 thoughts on “Books I’m Taking With Me To Camp! 

  1. Book Princess Review (@_bookprincess_) says:

    Omigosh, The Names They Gave Us is literally the BEST book to take to camp. Of course, it’s about a camp, but it’s such a cute coming of age story and totally gets you so in the motivating spirit. You are going to love. And I do feel like contemporaries will totally be the feel you will want in the camp setting. Ooooh, I can’t wait to see your reviews on some of these! 😀 And have an amazing time at camp! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • bedazzledbooklover says:

      It’s one of my most anticipated reads of the summer! I’m currently reading Amy + Roger’s Epic Detour and then DEFINITELY starting The Names They Gave Us!

      Yes! I ended up leaving the one paranormal arc because I finished it last night at like 11:30.

      And thank you! I’m gonna try and do bi-weekly vlogs and post them here 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

