Let’s Talk: Sex In YA Books

The Young Adult Genre has taken the world by storm in the past 10 years or so. While you’d think YA is pretty straightforward, there’s a lot of blending and melding when it comes to content, and what is and isn’t okay in the genre.

Today, I want to open a discussion about the big issue that seems to bother everybody. The question of whether sex in YA is okay, and how much sex is too much sex?

In all honesty, I don’t think sex in YA is bad. It’s just a matter of how it’s portrayed.

Lots of people think that it’s a new thing to include sex in YA. They think that a fade to black is necessary, because it’s not appropriate. But let me just say that it’s not a new thing at all.

In Judy Blume’s book Forever, there are multiple scenes where I was like WTF JUDY? But the real kicker is that the book was ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED in 1975. That’s over 40 years ago.

So why is sex and sexuality such a big deal NOW?

I don’t really mind sex in YA books, as long as its not like, disturbingly detailed. Sex is a part of real life, and let’s face it: it’s inescapable. So why hide it?

I want to hear what you think. Let me know in the comments, and also, if you feel so inclined, vote in this poll!

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: Sex In YA Books

  1. Tiana (The Book Raven) says:

    In my opinion, it’s totally ok to have sex in ya literature and it doesn’t need to fade to black. The first I heard of sex was in elementary school along with cussing and all that. And while I didn’t have a full understanding of what it was other little kids was who I heard it from. It’s kinda insane to try and hide something from young adults instead of including it and pushing away the stereotype that sex is bad. It isn’t. I think sex should be included so that we can all have an honest conversation of that part of life without shoving it behind closed doors. It shouldn’t be something we shame. Anywho, my only other thing is for it to be not too graphic..but other then that it’s ok. 🙂

    Like

    • bedazzledbooklover says:

      Yes thank you! That’s exactly how I feel. If we hide the fact that sex exists, it’s just going to cause problems. Teens should know about sex and learn about it in a way that doesn’t make them uncomfortable (Sex Ed anybody?). I mean I had “the talk” when I was 9 because I hit puberty way early and was the only kid with boobs. I was reading YA when I was 8 because my reading level was just too high to waste time on J-fic about talking rabbits. But with the territory of older kids books, came makeout scenes and sex scenes and it was no big deal because I knew it was normal. As long as it’s not super graphic I don’t mind and sometimes I’m even like “yes finally” when characters get to those points in their relationships because it shows the physical and emotional growth of the characters. It also just makes them more human.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

