Sunshine Blogger Award!

I was nominated for the Sunshine Blogger award by Mandy from Book Princess Reviews! Thank you very much Mandy!

For those of you who don’t know what the Sunshine Blogger Award is, it’s a way of acknowledging fellow bloggers and getting to know them better! Much like a book tag, you choose several bloggers to nominate, and then they answer the questions! The difference is, you also get a cool badge to go on your blog!

The rules of the Sunshine Blogger Award are as follows:

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

 

So here’s the deal. I don’t really know who to nominate. That being said, I am going to break the rules a little. I am tagging ANY blogger who wants to do this. 

Sorry guys, I’m a rebel.

Now that we’ve got that cleared up, I’m going to go ahead and answer my questions!

 

If you had to sort your own personal library, how would you do it – color, author, another way?

I’d like to think that I already have my own personal library! I own around 150-200 physical books, not including my classics collection. I like to keep them organized just like a library (I’ve been a volunteer at the library for years, so I guess it’s engrained in me!). I have a section for each genre and subgenre. Adult, New Adult, Young Adult, and Non-Fiction! Within my Young Adult section, I have it broken down into subgenres. Fantasy, Paranormal, Contemporary, Dystopia, Graphic Novels, and Advanced Reader Copies. I also have 2 shelves dedicated to my favorite authors, Cassandra Clare, and PC Cast. On those shelves I have all of their books in series order. It sounds complicated, but it makes my life so much easier when I’m looking for a book!

How important is a cover on a book for you?

To be completely honest, I don’t really care what the cover of a book looks like once I’ve read the book. But, when I see a book with an ugly cover, I tend to think twice before I read it. It’s a flaw I’d love to get rid of, but I just can’t help it.

What made you choose blogging – not Youtube or etc. but blogging?

That’s a really good question. I actually talked a little bit about it in my video BookTube Newbie Tag! But the longer story goes like this: In 2009, I was introduced to the Random Buzzers teen program through Penguin Random House, by a teacher. She said a friend in the publishing industry was telling her about it, and thought of me. I checked it out, and I got really into it. It was a cool website. You signed up, did a bunch of fun activities like writing book reviews, one shot stories, answered questions, voted on polls, and even got to interact with a different author each week through a live Q&A Bulletin board. So for 2 years, I only did Random Buzzers. Then one day I was at the library, and there was a little info pamphlet for Blogspot (the google platform now commonly known as Blogger). I checked it out, and was like “I’m gonna start a book review blog!”. This was in 2011. So, in March of 2011, I created the most cringeworthy blog ever. I already had access to ARCs, and was really involved in the book community already, so it was an easy transition. I stuck with it, and now here I am, 6 years and 2 domain names later, 20 years old, and writing on here!

 

What Princess (or Disney character) can you relate the most with? IF you don’t watch much Disney, what fictional character period can you?

I’m actually working on a blog post/video all about this, but the short answer is Belle. I was always the weird kid in school. I taught myself how to read when I was 2. My mom said the doctors even thought it was weird, and she got a lot of heat for it. Anyways, I was the weird kid in school who read like crazy. Belle has always been my favorite character, because I identify with her. A bookworm who longs for adventure, and values inner beauty instead of outer. Plus, she got to hang out with a cute talking teacup, and her boyfriend gave her a library.

 

If you could only have one song as mood music to reading, what you choose?

Dang, you’ve got the hard questions! Hmm. It might seem like an odd choice, but the Ever by Red is amazing, and I could definitely tie that song into pretty much every book I’ve ever read/am going to read. So I think it’d be good mood music. It’s dark, but I love it. Red is my favorite band. You can listen to it:

 

If you had to have your favorite meal – sans arugula of course – what would it be?

My favorite meal is spaghetti. So, it’d definitely be spaghetti with meatballs, mushrooms, black olives, mozzarella, and sour cream. Yes, sour cream on spaghetti. It’s amazing, don’t knock it before you try it.

 

Do you have a favorite time of year? If so, when is it and why?

My favorite time of year is early Summer! I live in Michigan, so the weather is weird, and early summer is full of hot days and cool, breezy nights! When I was in high school, my best friend and I would spend our summer days walking around downtown, laying in the grass at the park, going to the lazy river at the waterpark, and watching movies in my basement. At night, we sat in my backyard watching the stars almost every night.

Another reason I love summer, is because I work at a summer camp from late May, to mid-August! It’s an awesome job, and the best part is seeing the kids have amazing experiences that change their lives. I was a camper at the camp I work at, and it really does change your life.

What was your last binge watch/read?

My last binge watch was a 6 hour marathon of Bones. I’m currently working my way through the show, and am halfway through season 7. My last binge read was when I re-read all 4 of the Beautiful Creatures novels in 4 days, just so I could get back into the world to read the spin-off series, Dangerous Creatures.

 

What was your favorite story (folktale or fairytale maybe?) as a kid?

I always loved the original Grimm’s fairytales, even though they’re dark and morbid.

 

Do you discuss books with anyone in real life?

I don’t have any friends in real life, if I’m honest. My best friend is an art youtuber, who lives about 3-4 hours away from me, and we’ve never met in real life! I was supposed to go to her wedding last summer, but I had to work at the camp! We do talk about books a lot though. She shares my love for contemporary YA, and we talk about that a lot. My other best friend is a blogger from Texas, and we definitely talk about books all the time, but since I haven’t met her in real life either, I suppose the answer to this question is no.

 

If you could meet your favorite author, who would it be and what one question would you ask them?

Well, my favorite author is PC Cast, author of the Parthalon series, the House of Night series, and most recently, the Tales of a New World trilogy. I would ask her if there was any real life influence on the character James Stark, because he’s hecka hot, and I would like to marry whoever influenced him.

 

 

That’s the end of the questions for me to answer! Now, I’m going to list my questions for YOU to answer!

 

  1. You’re wrongfully accused of a crime, and in the middle of your last meal on Death Row, your lawyer comes in to tell you that your sentence has been lifted. What were you eating?
  2. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream? Why is it your favorite?
  3. What genre of books to you enjoy the very most?
  4. If you could meet and spend the day (about 12 hours) with any person, dead or alive, who would it be? What would you do?
  5. Pretend you’re a pirate. What is the great treasure you’re sailing the seas in search of?
  6. Do you like Marvel (Thor, The Hulk, Hawkeye) heroes, or D.C. (The Flash, Superman, Arrow) heros better? 
  7. What is your greatest achievement?
  8. Who is your fictional OTP?
  9. What is the longest Netflix binge you’ve ever partaken in?
  10. Favorite pizza topping?
  11. What makes you happy?

I hope you find this enjoyable, and that if you do this tag, you let me know so I can read your answers!

Have a great week! 

Leave a Reply

