Know Your Blogger: My Favorite Childhood Books

We all have those books that really impacted us. Whether they were short little chapter books, JER Classroom readers, or even picture books, the books we read as children tend to leave marks. At least, they did for me. 

I had to spend a little bit of time hunting a few of these down to be honest. I had to consult my mom, a couple of librarians, and finally, the Internet. Why I didn’t just go on Goodreads and Twitter to begin with, is beyond me. But I made it through the struggle, and here I am! Ready to show the world (or my small corner of the world) my favorite childhood books. 

Let’s do this! 



The Geronimo Stilton Graphic Novel Series

This is a cute little graphic novel series I read when I was really little. It was about a mouse and his family, and their day to day adventures. I don’t remember much else, except that I loved the covers, because there was cheese on them! 

Dancing in the Wings by Debbie Allen


Way before diversity in books was such a big deal, this book arrived in the world of children’s literature. It’s about a girl who is tall, awkward, has big feet, and an even bigger mouth. She is different, and she’s afraid that her being different will stop her from achieving her dream of being a ballerina. This was an amazing book, which I recently took the time to read again, and it has a really good lesson in it. If you want to read your kids something with an important message, this is one of the best books to read them. 


A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon


This is one book that I will never forget. The entire book is about a girl who doesn’t like Lima beans. So weird things happen to her, and she finally realizes she needs to eat Lima beans. I loved it as a kid, but now I feel like my mom read it to me to try and trick me into eating Lima beans. Look how well that worked mom! I still don’t eat them!

 


The Molly Moon Series by Georgia Byng



Now we’re almost into my early tween days. I was 9 turning 10 when I read this first book, and I got hooked. Molly Moon is an orphan who doesn’t get along with the other orphans. One day she learns how to hypnotize people. She goes on epic adventures with her sassy pug Petula. It’s amazing, and if you want fun, quirky, middle grade books, I highly recommend this series. 


The Eragon Trilogy (I never got around to reading the 4th book he added on) by Christopher Paolini


I was 12 when I read Eragon, and I fell in love with the world. This was the door to my love of epic fantasy novels. Dragons, elves, goblins, and all sorts of mythical creatures! Such fun! 

The Blue Bloods Series by Melissa De La Cruz


Let’s face it. I’m a sucker for all things paranormal (hehe, sucker, get it? Because vampires). Now, my mom was still a little strict when I read this first book, so I hid it in my room and snuck it at night. Once she realized I couldn’t be stopped and was obsessed with reading anything I could get my hands on, she gave me free reign, and I devoured the rest of the series. I actually had to wait for each of the new books to come out, and at 11 year old, it was a struggle but so worth the wait. Blue Bloods mixes vampires and fallen angel lore. It is epic. That is all I’m going to say. 


Little House Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder


You’ve probably heard of them. You’ve probably even seen the show, or read one of the books. The Little House on the Prairie series is hands down my favorite childhood series. I have read it more times than I can count. I inherited my mom’s old childhood copies from the 70s, and later on received a fancy set of my own. Little House follows Laura and her family through the ups and downs of living in early America. It’s really cool, because while some of it is fiction, almost all of it is actually Laura’s real accounts of her life. I love it. 

So those were some of my childhood favorites! You should let me know what your favorites are! 

Thanks for reading! 



2 thoughts on “Know Your Blogger: My Favorite Childhood Books

  1. Book Princess Review (@_bookprincess_) says:

    A Bad Case of the Stripes was literally my favoriteeeeeeee as a kid. I don’t know how many times I checked it out of the library as a kid. And then there was a period of time I totally forgot it’s name and could only describe it as, you know, that book where the girl gets a rainbow flu. XD The poor librarian was so confused. Great post, and you totally gave me some elementary school flashbacks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bedazzledbooklover says:

      Haha! I was fortunate enough to own the book as a kid, but when I asked my friends from the library to help me find the “rainbow stripe Lima bean book” for this post, they were baffled. Eventually, my mom was able to figure it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

