Book Review: Trial By Charm

Imported from my old blog, xbelleofthebooks.com.

 

image

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

Trial by Charm by Jolene Buchheit is a modern greek mythology spinoff, that uses references to twitter, the Percy Jackson series, and the phrase “can’t even”. It’s fantastic.

We follow a girl named Julia, her 2 friends Lissy and Taylor, and their longtime crush Vander. Vander just happens to have some weird magical mystical powers that Julia is immune to, and that Lissy and Taylor don’t understand or believe in. One night, Julia and gang break into their school (is it really breaking in if they have a set of stolen keys?) and find Vander and his friend in the girls swim team locker room. It is there that Julia first witnesses Vander’s powers, and their story begins. Vander & Julia set out to figure out why his powers don’t work on her, and they uncover some big secrets in the meantime.

The first 10 chapters or so of this book were really slow for me. I was intrigued, but the writing style was just different from what I’m used to, and its hard to explain. But once I got used to the voice, I was really hooked. Julia is a really interesting character, and Vander is such an asshole but in a good way. There’s this obvious connection between the two, even if it isn’t obvious to THEM, and it basically was the only thing that I wanted to read about.

Once I got into the real story, not just the introduction phase, I started to relax a bit, and ask myself different questions. I played around with a few theories, and when my final conclusion was correct, I got really excited. I won’t tell you what that was, because I want you to figure it out for yourself. Although it should be KINDA obvious.

There are a lot of funny moments where the characters reference things that my teenage sister says, and I was laughing for many of those moments. It was just a really light and easy read, even though the story was sort of complex.

One of the best things about this book is that the characters are diverse.

Julia is an african american, her friends are caucasian with crazy bright colored hair, and Julia even mentions some of her self consciousness about her appearance. She also has a struggle with anxiety. It’s a fresh approach to a greek mythology, which in the past has generally been portrayed by white people.

Overall, I’d say that if you push through the first 10 chapters, you’ll end up loving this book. It’s funny, entertaining, and there’s some romance and mythology in there that is irresistible.

I’d give this book 4 out of 5 stars, meaning I enjoyed it thoroughly, but I’m not having a hangover from it. I am really excited for the sequel though, because the bomb dropped at the end was epic.

If you like greek myths, romance, and diverse characters, this book is for you. You can get your own copy here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01D25M7B4

Or here: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/trial-by-charm-jolene-buchheit/1123544097?ean=2940152804447

Or here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1094129293

If you have already read this book, and are interested in the sequel, check out the virtual release party here: https://www.facebook.com/events/1745798342339074/

And pick up your copy tomorrow here:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M12CELL/
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/trial-by-dreams-jolene-buchheit/1124649608?ean=2940153493817
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1155970994

By the way, I’d just like to say that these covers are GORGEOUS.

Thanks for reading, I’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

