Book Review: Throne of Glass

This post was imported from my old blog xbelleofthebooks.com

 

Hello! I’m Lizzi and today I’m here with a super exciting review! I finally read Throne of Glass! I tried reading it this past winter, but I was in a little bit of a hangover from finishing the Lunar Chronicles, and I just couldn’t get into it. About a week ago though, I decided to actually read the first book to see if I could focus on it this time. I have this love/hate thing with Sarah J Maas novels so far, because I honestly couldn’t get into A Court of Mist & Fury, so I was super nervous to even start ToG. Anyways, here we go. This is my review of Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas!

So, Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas is a very loose retelling of Cinderella. Basically, Cinderella is an assassin named Celaena Sardothean, and she’s given a second chance to go from rags to riches, by competing in a competition to become the King’s personal assassin. At the castle, she forms ties with the princess of a bordering nation, and also forms relationships with the prince, and his best friend, the captain of the guard.

This book is enticing, and if you haven’t read it, you really should.

THAT CONCLUDES THE NON SPOILER SECTION. IF YOU DON’T WANT SPOILERS, DON’T READ ANYTHING BELOW THIS PHOTO.

OK. I’m going to start off by saying that in the first few chapters, I think like by chapter 10, I was team Chaol, but then Dorian got Celaena a puppy and I changed my mind. I promised myself I wouldn’t get involved in the ships in case the one I chose sinks, but I can’t help myself.

That being said, I was really freaking mad when Celaena dumped Dorian after winning the competition. UGH.

Relationships aside though, Chaol is a really great friend to Celaena, even though he comes off sour and rude half of the time. He’s just a more serious person, and he takes his job seriously, and wants to serve Dorian the best he can. He’s also Dorian’s best friend, so I imagine he holds even more loyalty than the other guards.

The king is a super fishy, suspicious character, and I think that when he went off to do who knows what until Yulemas, he was using that fancy ring of his to kill people. Why else would he leave with 100 (I don’t know if that’s actually how many people but I made up a number) men, and come back completely and utterly alone?

Nehemia is amazing and I really love her. Although at first I was really following Celaena in her suspicions, and I did think for a moment that she was guilty of being the evil one. Especially when she spoke in the common tongue with no issues, and was kind of rude to Celaena.

Cain made me want to stab watermelons. SO MUCH. What an arrogant douchebag. I KNEW HE WAS BAD. He just seemed like the obvious choice to be evil, and so when the possibility of Nehemia being evil arose, I jumped at the chance to have a unique plot twist.

To be honest, there wasn’t really a big plot twist. I was disappointed by that. I was completely gripped by the story though, so it didn’t make me too upset.

Let’s talk about the infuriating Lady Kaltain though. That bitch doesn’t know when to stop. I feel like even if she hadn’t been manipulated by Duke Whatshisface, she still would have come up with a way to try and have Celaena eliminated harshly. Maybe not by her own hand, but I get the feeling that she would have hired someone to do the dirty work for her. I also doubt that this is the last time we’re going to see her.

BACK TO DORIAN AND CHAOL. I freaking love love triangles. So much. But it’s not really a love triangle yet, because Celaena doesn’t even KNOW that Chaol loves her. Even though it’s really obvious. I’m hoping that it becomes more obvious in the next book, because then we can have some drama. I mean Dorian and Chaol are best friends, but I’m not going to say I wouldn’t enjoy seeing them duel it out for Celaena or something. Especially since Celaena has that girly side and I feel like she might even enjoy watching that happen. I know I would.

Can we talk about the fact that Dorian’s little brother puts off some freakish Joffrey vibes, and we haven’t even met him yet? I’m super excited to see if we meet him in the next books, because I need a character to hate. I mean, I don’t LIKE Duke Whatshisface or the king, but I don’t hate them. And Cain is dead, so I can’t hate him.

What the hell happened to Celaena’s parents though? They had to be something, or have done something wrong to warrant being brutally murdered while Celaena was SLEEPING NEXT TO THEM. I need to know more about that as soon as possible.

The King of Assassins though. At first I thought he was a nice guy, and then she said he made her break her hand so she would become ambidextrous and that he made her pay him back for EVERY OUNCE OF TRAINING HE PUT INTO HER, and he spent it all in the matter of a few hours. What an asshole. I hope we see more of him too, because I feel like he might have a big part in this story. He wouldn’t have spent that much time personally training Celaena if he didn’t know something about her.

Lastly, let’s talk about these Wyrdmarks (wordmarks, I’m assuming?). Celaena is definitely a fairy or something. I feel like she’s probably got a lot of magical blood, and that she’s like, a true descendant of Queen Elena. That might cause some trouble for her, but at the same time I think that is what is going to help her the most in the end. Because she has the roots of her world in her blood. And Queen Elena said that blood ties are impossible to break. So that must mean that she’s family somehow.

Those are all of my thoughts on the plot. Now, I’ll just tell you that I really loved this book and as soon as I post this I’m picking up my kindle and reading the novella bind up.

To end this on a good note, I’m going to give this book 4.8/5 stars. The only reason it isn’t a solid 5 is because it didn’t have a love triangle. But that is to come. So yeah.

Have an awesome weekend, and don’t forget:

You can rattle the stars.

Leave a Reply

