ARC Review: The Lovely Reckless: During Which I Ugly Cried

This post was imported from my old blog xbelleofthebooks.com

 

image

Disclaimer: I received a free advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

Oh my GOD. Kami Garcia, you have wrecked my heart and then patched it up again. The Lovely Reckless was amazing and I can’t get over how good it is.

So, for those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, I’m going to give you a little bit of background information. Also, just a pre-warning, I am not doing this review like I normally do, because I don’t want to go into spoilery detail until I read the final copy.

The Lovely Reckless is the new young adult romance novel by Kami Garcia, co-author of the Beautiful Creatures and Dangerous Creatures series. Unlike the Caster Chronicles, the Lovely Reckless is set in a very magic-free world, and is a more contemporary novel.

Summary (as provided by the publisher):

Seventeen year old Frankie Devereux would do anything to forget the past. Haunted by the memory of her boyfriend’s death, she lives her life by one dangerous rule: Nothing matters. At least, that’s what Frankie tells herself after  reckless mistake forces her to leave her privileged life in the Heights, and move in with her dad – an undercover cop. She transfers to a public high school in the Downs, where fistfights don’t faze anyone, and illegal street racing is more popular than football.

Marco Leone is the fastest street racer in the Downs. Tough, sexy, and hypnotic, he makes it impossible for Frankie to ignore him – and how he makes her feel. But, the risks Marco takes for his family could have devastating consequences for them both. When Frankie discovers his secret, she has to make a choice. WIll she let the pain of the past determine her future? Or will she risk what little she has left to follow her heart?

When I first read the summary, I was immediately intrigued.

I am a bit of a masochist, and any book that seems like it has the slightest possibility of making me cry is automatically added to my TBR. Now, to say that this book made me cry would be an understatement. I was ugly crying from about page 295 – 305. That’s right. 10 pages of ugly cries. And to be quite honest, I was probably overreacting. But for some reason, Kami’s books always have this effect on me. I cry. Always.

TLR showed up on my doorstep at about 11am this morning, (as you read this, this morning is actually monday morning) and I set it down, trying to wait until I went to the store to buy some sticky notes to start reading it. But I couldn’t contain my excitement, and I decided to just take notes on my phone. So, I made my lunch, sat down on the couch, and opened the book at about 3pm. I read it until 6, when my mom and sister got home. I ate dinner, went back to the couch, and continued reading. I updated my progress on Goodreads a few times, but the more I got into the book, the less I wanted to set it down.

I felt everything that Frankie felt. Her pain was so real, I thought it was my own. That’s the way a book should make you feel.

I literally have no issues with this story. It was paced really well, the words flowed together easily, and the dialogue at the beginning with her dad was great. It was KINDA insta-lovey, but that was to be expected, considering the summary of the story.

Overall, I am beyond thrilled to have been able to read this book so early. I’m so proud of Kami’s work, and I will probably be reading this again in a few weeks just because I can. I’ll also probably cry some more.

The Lovely Reckless is a beautiful, treacherous, masterpiece that will split you into pieces, and patch you back up again. I don’t give 5 stars lightly, but 5 stars to Frankie and Marco.

Leave a Reply

