Book Review: Signs Point to Yes

This post was imported from my old blog xbelleofthebooks.com

I’m not a big fan of contemporary. But when I do read it, I like it to be a perfect balance of cheesy, and realistic, and I like it to cover topics that are real. It’s definitely hard to find contemporary novels that have that perfect balance, but it’s not impossible. I normally stumble upon some of my very favorite books just by accident. I am friends with the teen librarian at my local library, and whenever I come to her asking for recommendations, I leave with several great reads that I would otherwise have overlooked. The most recent being, Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall.

Signs Point to Yes is about 2 teens, Jane and Teo, although you get some 3rd person perspective from the 2 supporting characters, Margo and Ravi. Jane is babysitting for Teo’s mom over the summer, while Teo works at the pool. Her sister Margo is in town for the summer, and it is clear that although Margo and Jane are really close, their parents favor Margo over Jane most of the time. It gets a little bit more complicated though, because Jane and Teo used to be friends growing up, and Teo’s current best friend doesn’t like Jane. It’s not really a malicious hate, but more of a You-Annoy-Me-So-I’m-Going-To-Be-A-Jerk-All-The-Time thing. In all honesty, I loved Ravi and how he acted towards Jane. It was an amazing comedic relief. Not that the book even needs comedic relief. It’s a super light, easy read. I started and finished it in just a few hours.

So, Jane is struggling to figure out what she wants to do after high school. Her mom is determined for her to go to college, where she works. But Jane has other plans. She doesn’t want to go to college. And to be honest, who could blame her? College is scary! Her mom is pushing for her to get a job that she doesn’t want, so she takes a babysitting job with Teo’s family. Which brings us to Teo. He is doing some major soul-searching. He’s coping with his mom having a husband that isn’t his father, and sisters that are only half his blood. But when his best friend leaves for the summer on a whim, he finds himself talking to Jane about things that he never tells anyone. And then, in the typical, boy-and-girl-soul-search-together way, they fall for each other. It’s great.

I think what I liked the most about this book is that it is so dorky. The main character is so flawed. She’s awkward, obsessed with Doctor Who fanfiction, and consults her magic 8 ball for everything. When she talks to Teo she says a lot of weird, awkward things. I just love her. She reminds me of Cath from Fangirl in a way, but definitely not as extreme as Cath.

This book definitely lives up to it’s description on the front, which says “An adorkable new romance”. Adorkable is the perfect word for it. I wouldn’t describe it any other way. I recommend it to anybody who needs a light read. Especially if you’re getting out of a slump, or trying to recover from a book hangover (I just recovered from my post-Passenger hangover). I give this book a grade of A+ as far as contemporary goes. Thank you Sandy Hall for a great story, with realistic characters, and adorkable romance.

If you want to buy this book, click the title of the book in pink, where I’ve provided a link. I am an amazon affiliate, and every purchase you make using my link helps me out a little bit. Again, thank you so much for reading, and I will be back later in the week with another review or bookish post!

Leave a Reply

